East Calhoun

The Intersection of Recreation and Home.

Neighborhood Name Review Committee

Chair: Ralph Knox
Meeting schedule: Monday, August 5, 7pm at St. Mary’s Greek Orthodox Church, 3450 Irving Ave s.

Update: August 2, 2019
Neighborhood Name

The results are in and 63.7% of the 424 votes cast were to change the name “East Calhoun Community Organization.” 

During the months of engagement and conversations, many of you have contributed ideas for the neighborhood name. But we want more ideas, specifically, we need YOUR ideas!

Through September 2, 2019, we are asking you to give us your ideas on what our neighborhood’s new name should be. As you’re coming up with names, please consider the following questions:

  • How do you describe where you live to people in other neighborhoods?

  •  What feature about the neighborhood is most distinguishing or important to you?

  • What brand do you want our neighborhood to have?

  • What name will make it clear to people in other parts of Minneapolis where we are located?

  • What name will you identify with and cherish?

Send us your ideas!

  • Online at this link

  •  In-person: At the neighborhood Labor Day Celebration on September 2, 3–6:30pm at St. Mary’s Greek Orthodox Church

  • By mail: Send your ideas to East Calhoun Community Organization, 2751 Hennepin Ave S, Box 13, Minneapolis, MN 55408

**All ideas must be received by September 2, 2019**

What’s Next

The ECCO Board has approved the following process: 

  • The Neighborhood Name Review Committee will review the names that have been submitted and identify potential neighborhood names. 

  • Neighborhood residents will then vote to narrow the choices to two potential names.*

  • A final round of voting will determine our neighborhood’s new name.*

*Watch your mail for news on voting options.

________________________________________________

Neighborhood Name Community Meetings Recap:
East Calhoun Community Organization held three community meetings in May 2019 to hear from residents about the name of our neighborhood. We encourage you to review information and comments from these meetings:

________________________________________________

Background info:

The change in name from Lake Calhoun to Bde Maka Ska has lead some organizations and businesses with Calhoun in their name to consider a name change.  

Our adjacent neighborhood, South Uptown, underwent such a process. In December 2018, the ECCO Board created a committee tasked with exploring a change to our neighborhood name. 

The Neighborhood Name Review Committee is tasked with finding out how neighbors feel about the current name and if there is a desire for change. The committee will be responsible for creating and implementing neighborhood engagement to ensure this is a robust process.  

Meeting Minutes:

February 5, 2019
March 4, 2019
March 12, 2019
March 19, 2019
March 25, 2019
April 8, 2019
April 17, 2019
April 23, 2019
May 1, 2019
May 14, 2019
May 21, 2019
May 28, 2019
June 12, 2019
July 3, 2019
July 22, 2019 - waiting for approval

Watch the Channel 5 Eyewitness News story about ECCO’s process (February 18, 2018)